The referee interferes with the Vikings defender on a touchdown pass from Washington to Curtis Samuel
Referees cannot mark themselves for pass interference.
That’s good for Washington commanders.
Facing second-and-7 from Minnesota’s 49-yard line early in the third quarter, Heinicke looked deep to Samuel on a triple-coverage route. Viking safety Camryn Bynum he had a heel on the pass and was in position to make a play on the ball. That is until he ran into an unexpected obstruction.
The downfield official found himself in traffic, and Bynum grabbed him as he prepared to make a play. Bynum and the referee fell to the turf and Samuel scooped up the ball and rolled into the end zone untouched for a 49-yard score to give Washington a 10-7 lead.
Officials reviewed the play to confirm that Samuel was not touched before rolling into the end zone. Pass interference by an official is, of course, not a thing. Even if it were, it would not be reviewable.
“The officiating is part of the field,” explained Fox officiating analyst Dean Blandino. “Just a bad break.”
Samuel was not touched, and the play stood to give Washington a three-point lead.
That’s a tough way to give up a touchdown on the road. Fortunately for the Vikings, it didn’t cost them the game. They scored 13 unanswered points in the fourth quarter to secure it 20-17 win.
#referee #interferes #Vikings #defender #touchdown #pass #Washington #Curtis #Samuel