NHL

Cale Makar says he’s not clearing this penalty that cost the Avalanche

Cale Makar says he’s not clearing this penalty that cost the Avalanche

Cale Makar says he’s not clearing this penalty that cost the Avalanche

Cale Makar’s back must be taking up too much space.

This is the only reasonable explanation for Makar, based on how the referees cleared him of his misconduct.

Makar he skated into the penalty area red in the face cursing and shaking his head in equal parts amusement and disbelief.f with 8:32 left in a tied game Wednesday. He was called for interference against Vancouver center Dakota Joshua, ending an Avalanche power play prematurely. It took the Canucks 32 seconds to score the game-winner on 4-on-4.

As for the penalty, “he said I kicked my ass,” Makar said. “I don’t think I did it there. Maybe I did. I don’t know.”

His coach does know that.

“It was good,” Jared Bednar said. “He and (JT) Compher were stopped there. … It seems pretty clear to me, but it doesn’t seem like the way things are going in the league, because one night it’s called. The next night it’s not.”

The inconsistent call in question is interference against a player who is waiting at the blue line to cross into the offensive zone. Interference, in its simplest form, is called when a skater intentionally goes out of his way to block the path of an opponent who does not have the puck.

But in Makar’s case, it wasn’t about going out of his way to disrupt a rival’s progress. The defending Norris Trophy winner argued that he was the first player to occupy the space he was waiting for. Joshua skated over him and fell to the ice. Makar was punished.

“It’s interesting. It’s a very complex conversation, obviously, because when you don’t really understand what’s going on, from my point of view, then how should I improve?” Makar said.

He was just beginning what turned out to be a two-minute opening statement of sorts, his entry point into a seven-minute interview focused entirely on the rule.

“It’s happened two or three times this year now. It’s hard Whose ice is it? That’s the real question,” he said. “It’s tough. You’ve got a guy skating backwards in the neutral zone, and if I go forward, I’m going to the O zone for an offside. In that circumstance, (Compher) is there same thing. I guess I can go back, but I’m probably going to run right into (Joshua). I’m shoulder-checking to see if he’s going to tackle me. … If I was standing in the offensive zone and somebody touches me, whose fault is it? ?

“Even with your explanation, both sides just don’t understand what we’re looking for in terms of what to call. That’s where my head is at.”

Avalanche Center Nathan MacKinnon told Mile High Sports’ Aarif Deen that Makar’s penalty “makes no sense”, and that referees tend to make this call disproportionately against teams that enter the zone on a power play; less forcefully.

What would Bednar like to be called?

“I think if you’re skating through the line, setting an intentional pick, moving on that player’s ice, it should be called interference,” he said. “I think when you get to the line and you’re stopped and you’re taking up ice, it’s up to the defensive player to move. That’s how I see it. You have the right to ice everywhere on the entire rink. I don’t see why you don’t get ice time if you’re there early and you stopped on the power play. But every night is said differently. So we’ll have to clear it up again.”





#Cale #Makar #hes #clearing #penalty #cost #Avalanche

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button