NCAA Football

Duggan won the Golden Hand Award; Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year

Duggan won the Golden Hand Award; Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year

Austin Heinen

On Wednesday afternoon, TCU quarterback and former Lewis Central Titan Max Duggan was honored with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and was named the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the top quarterback in high school football. Quarterbacks who receive this award are judged not only on their statistics, but also on character, scholastic achievement and leadership qualities.

Duggan beat out other finalists including Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, Oregon’s Beau Nix, Georgia’s Stetson Bennett and Tennessee’s Handon Hooker for the prestigious award.

Duggan is the first TCU player to win the Golden Arm award and is the second TCU student-athlete to earn the No. 12 Offensive Player of the Year award, joining Trevon Boykin who won the award in 2014.

People also read…

Duggan is also a finalist for other national awards, such as the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Heisman Trophy.

Duggan played a big role in the Horned Frogs’ undefeated season with 3,070 yards and 29 touchdowns, both stats leading the Big 12 Conference.

In doing so, Duggan made only three interceptions. He also ran for 294 yards and five more touchdowns and has a quarterback rating of 79.7.

Duggan and the TCU Horned Frogs are currently ranked No. 3 in the latest College Football Playoff rankings and will play No. 10 Kansas State for the Big 12 Championship and a bid to the College Football Playoff on Saturday at 11 a.m.

#Duggan #won #Golden #Hand #Award #Big #Offensive #Player #Year

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button