NCAA Football

Heisman winners by school: List of college football teams with the most Heisman trophies

Heisman winners by school: List of college football teams with the most Heisman trophies

The 2022 Heisman Trophy finalists are some of the biggest names in the college football world. USC, Ohio State, TCU and Georgia are among the four finalists.

Whichever quarterback wins the Heisman Trophy, whether it’s Caleb Williams, C.J. Stroud, Max Duggan or Stetson Bennett, the list of winners from their respective schools will continue to grow. Each of the programs has at least one Heisman winner in its history, while USC and Ohio State are among the most represented in the sport’s most prestigious award.

In all, there have been Heisman winners from 40 different schools in the award’s 87 years.

What program has won the most Heisman Trophy? Here’s a look at the schools with the most winners.

MORE: Pros and cons for each of the four Heisman Trophy finalists

Which school has the most Heisman winners?

The schools with the most Heisman winners, seven apiece, have four: Notre Dame, Ohio State and Oklahoma. If Stroud wins, Ohio State will take the lead.

The Sooners recently entered a list of Heisman winners with two in the past six years, with Lincoln Riley coaching Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray to back-to-back Heisman wins in 2017 and 2018. If Williams wins, it will be the third Riley Heisman quarterback has coached more than all but 11 FBS teams in history.

Among those four, Ohio State has the next most recent winner with Troy Smith in 2006. Notre Dame hasn’t had a player win the Heisman since 1987, when Tim Brown won the award. Although there were many finalists who traveled from South Bend to New York.

MORE: 2022 College Football Awards Tracker

USC will be tied for the lead with Notre Dame, Ohio State and Oklahoma. USC had Heisman winners (Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush) in 2004 and 2005, but Bush’s win has since been vacated following an NCAA investigation into improper advantages received by the star running back.

Heisman Trophy winners by school

School Heisman Trophy winners
Mother of God 7
Ohio State 7
Oklahoma 7
USC 6*
Alabama 4
Michigan 3
Army 3
Florida 3
Chestnut 3
Nebraska 3
State of Florida 3
Yale 2
Georgia 2
Wisconsin 2
Texas A&M 2
navy 2
Texas 2
miami (florida) 2
Chicago 1
Iowa 1
Minnesota 1
Princeton 1
Syracuse 1
State of Oregon 1
Stanford 1
Pension state 1
Pete 1
South Carolina 1
Boston College 1
Oklahoma State 1
Houston 1
Brigham Young 1
Colorado 1
Baylor 1
Oregon 1
Louisville 1

* Reggie Bush stripped of his Heisman Trophy after NCAA sanctions

Ohio State Heisman Winners

Ohio State is the only team with the distinction of having more trophies than other Heisman winners. There are six different Buckeyes to win the Heisman Trophy: Les Horvath (1944), Vic Janovich (1950), Archie Griffin (1974), Archie Griffin (1975), Eddie George (1995) and Troy Smith (2006).

Yes, Griffin won the Heisman Trophy twice. He is the only player to do so when he won it in 1974-75.

Among Ohio State’s Heisman Trophy winners, Smith is the only quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy.

Heisman Winners by Year – The Complete History of Players Who Won College Football’s Top Award

Notre Dame Heisman winners

The Fighting Irish were Heisman Trophy winners in the 1940s and 1950s.

During this time, Angelo Bertelli (1943), Johnny Lujack (1947), Leon Hart (1949), Johnny Lautner (1953) and Pual Hornung (1956) finished the year winning the Heisman Trophy.

Since 1956, only two Notre Dame players have won the award: quarterback John Warte in 1964 and wide receiver Tim Brown in 1987.

Oklahoma Heisman winners

Oklahoma has recently become a factory for Heisman quarterbacks. Before Riley’s time in Norman, Oklahoma, there had already been two Heisman-winning quarterbacks this century.

Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) were the first two Oklahoma QBs to win the Heisman, later joined by Mayfield (2017) and Murray (2018).

The Sooners were already well represented before this QB quartet. Becky Billy Wessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969) and Billy Sims (1978) were Oklahoma’s first three Heisman winners.

MORE: Grades for 14 first-year college football coaches

USC Heisman winners

Bush’s vacated Heisman drops USC’s total from seven to six, but even without it, the Trojans still started the 2000s with two Heisman winners before. Carson Palmer won the 2002 Heisman, two years before Leinart would become the second USC QB to win the award in 2004.

Before Palmer and Leinart, USC produced four Heisman Trophy-winning running backs. Mike Garrett (1965) was the first Trojan to win the award, followed by OJ Simpson (1968), Charles White (1979) and Marcus Allen (1981).

A Williams win would move USC into a tie with Ohio State, Notre Dame and Oklahoma State for the most Heisman Trophy winners.

Alabama Heisman Winners

Prior to Nick Saban’s arrival, Alabama, despite its historic success, had not had a Heisman Trophy winner. He really changed that score.

Mark Ingram was the first Crimson Tide player to win the Heisman when he received the award in 2009. Six years later, Derrick Henry became the second recipient of this award from Alabama.

Devonta Smith became just the fourth wide receiver to win the Heisman Trophy in 2020 when he caught 117 passes for 1,856 yards with 23 touchdowns en route to a national championship.

The following year, Bryce Young became the first Alabama quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy, throwing for 4,872 yards with 47 touchdowns and seven picks.

#Heisman #winners #school #List #college #football #teams #Heisman #trophies

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button