Joe Thomas, Darrelle Revis, Dwight Freeney among HOF finalists

Joe Thomas, Darrelle Revis, Dwight Freeney among HOF finalists

Three first-time inductees and one player who has waited 25 years highlight the list of 15 finalists for the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Tackle Joe Thomas, a 10-time Pro Bowl selection and six-time first-team All Pro, cornerback Darrelle Revis and defensive end Dwight Freeney are finalists in their first year of eligibility. Corner Albert Lewis, who played his last game in the 1998 season, has waited the usual five years after retirement to be named a finalist for the first time with 20 years of eligibility.

The other Class of 2023 finalists announced Wednesday night are:

  • Jared Allen, defensive end

  • Willie Anderson, forward

  • Ronde Barber, cornerback

  • Devin Hester, wide receiver/returner

  • Torry Holt, wide receiver

  • Andre Johnson, wide receiver

  • Zach Thomas, linebacker

  • DeMarcus Ware, defensive end/outside linebacker

  • Reggie Wayne, wide receiver

  • Patrick Willis, linebacker

  • Darren Woodson, safety

Of that group, only Woodson was not a finalist last year, and Holt has now been a finalist four times.

The Hall of Fame selection committee will meet in the coming weeks to select up to five modern-era finalists. The Class of 2023 will be announced on Feb. 9 at the NFL Honors show, three days before the Super Bowl.

Ken Riley, Chuck Howley and Joe Klecko are senior committee finalists, and Don Coryell is a coach/coach committee finalist. Those four will be voted yes or no.

It will take place in August at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Joe Thomas is the most decorated player among this year’s finalists, as his 10 Pro Bowls rank eighth for an offensive lineman. But in the 11 seasons Thomas has had Cleveland Brownsthe team did not make the playoffs and finished with a winning record just once — 10-6 in 2007, after finishing third in its rookie year.

Among other eligible first-year players, Freeney was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection and a three-time first-team All Pro. Indianapolis Colts‘ Super Bowl XLI winning team to end the 2006 season. He also led the NFL in sacks in 2004.

Revis, a seven-time Pro Bowl selection and four-time first-team All Pro whose coverage skills launched the nickname “Revis Island,” played for four teams during his 11-year career. Drafted 14th overall. the jets In 2007, he played eight of his seasons in New York, two franchise seasons. He also won a Super Bowl in 2014 New England Patriots.

If one or both of Thomas and Revis make the 2023 Hall of Fame class, they would join wide receiver Calvin Johnson, the No. 2 pick. Detroit Lions In 2007, as a Hall of Famer among the first 14 picks in that draft.

Of all the finalists, no one has waited longer than Lewis, who is in his final year to be considered a player of the modern era. Lewis, played 16 seasons (11 with the team Kansas City Chiefs and with five Raiders), finished his career with 42 interceptions.

#Joe #Thomas #Darrelle #Revis #Dwight #Freeney #among #HOF #finalists

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button