Former Waves College World Series-winning baseball skipper headed to Hall of Fame • The Malibu Times

Former Waves College World Series-winning baseball skipper headed to Hall of Fame • The Malibu Times

Andy Lopez was named Coach of the Year by Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America for the 1992 title season

Former Pepperdine Waves baseball coach Andy Lopez, who guided the Waves to a national title three decades ago, will be inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame in February.

Lopez, Pepperdine’s coach for six seasons, is one of the 10 standouts on the diamond who are part of the Hall’s 2022 class. They will be honored during College Baseball’s Night of Champions in Omaha, Neb., Feb. 2-3.

Lopez led Pepperdine to the College World Series crown in 1992. The Waves went 48-11-1 that season, including an 8-1 record in the postseason.

Pepperdine defeated Cal State Fullerton in Omaha 3-2 to win the program’s first and only NCAA championship. Lopez was named National Coach of the Year by Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America that season. The skipper would receive the honor two more times.

He coached the Waves from 1989 to 1994. In his first season in the Pepperdine dugout, Lopez led the team to a 41-19-1 record and made the NCAA postseason for the first of four times with a Waves uniform. Pepperdine was 41-17-1 in 1991, the season before the NCAA title win. Lopez coached the Waves to an overall record of 241-107-3 in his years in Malibu.


The other Hall of Fame inductees are former Brown outfielder and 1974 Sporting News College Baseball Player of the Year Bill Almon; Roger Cador, Southern University head coach; former Southern University standout infielder Rickie Weeks, who played for Cador and was the Player of the Year in 2003; former Michigan All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year Casey Close; Two-time NAIA National Championship coach Ken Dugan of Lipscomb; eight-time College World Series umpire Jim Garman; Condredge Holloway, the first black member of the University of Tennessee baseball program; Art Mazmanian, Southern California All-American and Mount San Antonio College head coach; and Ken Ritter, the 1988 NCAA Division III Player of the Year, from North Central College.

National College Baseball Hall of Fame President and CEO Mike Gustafson said in the Dec. 21 press release that the Class of 2022 checks all the boxes.

“With national players of the year from various levels of college baseball to coaching legends and a trailblazer, it’s a well-rounded list,” he said.

Lopez, who retired in 2015, also coached in Florida and Arizona. He coached Arizona to the NCAA Championship three years before retiring. He is one of the most successful college baseball coaches in history and compiled a record of 1,177-742-7. Lopez led teams to five College World Series appearances and reached the postseason in 17 of his 26 seasons as a head coach. He also won National Coach of the Year honors in 1996 and 2012 and is a nine-time conference coach of the year.

Lopez coached at Florida for seven years after leaving Pepperdine. He then coached in Arizona for 14 seasons.

Lopez played college baseball at UCLA and was later drafted by the Detroit Tigers in the amateur draft, but chose to complete his college education and enter coaching.

Lopez coached at LA Harbor Community College and Mira Costa High School in Manhattan Beach before being hired at CSU Dominguez Hills in 1983. He led the team to league titles in 1986 and 1987 and to the Division II College World Series two years before going there. at Pepperdine.

#Waves #College #World #Serieswinning #baseball #skipper #headed #Hall #Fame #Malibu #Times

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button