NCAA Football

Waco’s Derrick Johnson is entering the College Football Hall of Fame

Waco’s Derrick Johnson is entering the College Football Hall of Fame

Staff report

Waco’s own Derrick Johnson has been named to the Class of 2023 for the College Football Hall of Fame.

After a stellar career at Waco High, Johnson starred at the University of Texas from 2001-04. He won the Nagurski and Butkus awards and accumulated 458 career tackles, 10.5 sacks, 39 quarterback pressures, 30 pass breakups, 11 forced fumbles, five fumble returns and nine interceptions.

“I am truly overwhelmed, humbled and very grateful to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame,” Johnson said in a UT release. “Ever since I came to Texas, I remember the displays in our football Hall of Fame building, and now to be a part of this special group is an absolute dream come true.”

The Hall of Fame Class of 2023 will be recognized next December in Las Vegas. The rest of the class includes Florida’s Tim Tebow, USC’s Reggie Bush, Tennessee’s Eric Berry; Robert Gallery of Iowa; Bill Kolar of Montana State; Jeremy Maclin of Missouri; Terrance Mathis of New Mexico; Miami’s Bryant McKinney; Corey Moore of Virginia Tech; Michael Stonebraker of Notre Dame; Troy Vincent of Wisconsin; Brian Westbrook of Villanova; and Deangelo Williams of Memphis.

People also read…

The four coaches to be inducted into the Hall of Fame will be Shepherd’s Monte Carr; Roy Kramer, the Central Michigan coach turned SEC commissioner; Mark Richt, who coached Georgia and Miami; and triple-option guru Paul Johnson, who worked at Georgia Southern, Navy and Georgia Tech.

#Wacos #Derrick #Johnson #entering #College #Football #Hall #Fame

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button