The state of emergency has been extended until mid-December, the borders will be closed to Russian citizens

On Tuesday, the Seimas adopted a resolution with 68 votes in favor, five MPs against and 26 abstentions, imposing a 24-hour state of emergency on Lithuania’s border with Russia and Belarus until December 16. Currently, the state of emergency is in force throughout the country until September 15 inclusive.

From Friday midnight, the state of emergency will no longer be in effect throughout the country, but only on the border with Russia and Belarus. From September 19, when the ban on entry of Russian citizens to Lithuania comes into effect, the state of emergency also comes into effect at border control points located outside the territory of the border section, i.e. Vilnius and Kaunas airports, Vilnius railway station.

After Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Poland agreed not to admit Russian citizens, their entry into the country will be restricted from September 19. The State Border Guard Service will have to ensure that only Russian citizens who meet the criteria established by the Government are allowed into the territory of Lithuania through the external border of the European Union (EU).

The Baltic states and Poland said last week that travel in the EU is a privilege, not a human right, and that it is unacceptable that citizens of an aggressor state can travel freely around Europe while people in Ukraine are being tortured and killed.

The arrival of Russian citizens traveling for tourism, culture, sports and business purposes to the Schengen area will be restricted by the adoption of national temporary measures by each state and must enter into force in each of them separately by September 19.

In Lithuania, the decision is implemented through a state of emergency resolution.

Only dissidents, freedom fighters, independent journalists, other people arriving on humanitarian grounds and their family members, as well as family members of EU citizens, seafarers, people transiting through Kaliningrad and holding long-term “D” category visas will be allowed into the country.

It is not allowed to publish, quote or otherwise reproduce the information of the news agency BNS in public information media and on websites without the written consent of UAB “BNS”.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.